A Restless Soul

A Restless Soul

Shallow. You are an endless trail of puddles, hopping from one to the next to find meaning. You morph into who you are around. You make a home where you are each moment. Your awareness does not extend beyond your immediate surroundings. You find meaning only in others so you can avoid any self-accountability.

Aren’t you tired?

Of putting on a show? Of being everything you think others want from you instead of what you actually have the potential to be? Of stealing from others to mold yourself? Of unoriginal thoughts and hand-me-down beliefs? How many faces hang in your closet?

The constant façade must be so exhausting –

What do you value? What grounds you? What motivates you? What defines you?

You know all the right things to say and I’m sure you’d have the perfect answers – but the thing you never learned is actions are what create truth. Your words are potential energy, forever unfulfilled.

Aren’t you tired?

You saw the world through my eyes. You used me to fill you up with meaning and importance and wit and value and strength. Then you cast me aside when you had wrung me dry. You took and you took and you left me empty and raw. You are me in the most superficial way. You are the lesser version of who I have always been and who I will always remain. You are the aftershock of my earthquake.

But like a planet, straying from the sun – you will lose your way once you’ve drifted too far. You’ll float through space – nothing to keep you centered. Your power, waning. Nothing to pull you into orbit.

And I will remain Sun. Constant and unwavering. Unapologetically strong. Maybe shaken – never altered. Grand orchestrator of the most magnificent solar system. Extending beyond myself to bring light, warmth and life as my rays effervesce infinitely.

You’re not even sorry – you just know you’re supposed to be.

What will you be remembered for?

A restless soul who values nothing but the next experience. The next stranger you meet. The next thrill you seek.

I used to find you endearing – but now I see it’s all just a boring, meaningless cycle – and I’ve finally broken free.

Aren’t you tired?

Author: Gabrielle DeStefano

Gabrielle DeStefano

Leave a comment