Election Day 2020

It’s hard for me to think back on this day in 2016 and the trauma I experienced discovering that 45 became our President in the middle of the night. It’s hard not to spiral into such feelings of despair again as we await the 2020 Election results. The overwhelming feeling that we are on the precipice of potential, real and lasting revolutionary redirection of this country is almost unbearable. And so I will speak into existence all the hopes and positivity I can muster…

I pray we stay on the right side of history and stop bogging down progress by trudging up already resolved human rights issues. I hope we strengthen our democracy by defending against voter suppression, unlawful gerrymandering and foreign interference in our elections. I hope we value human autonomy, health and ability to thrive over corporate interests and repression of rights. I hope we revolutionize industries by making environmentally responsible decisions, creating jobs in innovative forward thinking industries like green energy and medical research. I hope we divest from the militarization of our police forces and reinvest in education. I hope we create a basic baseline living standard for each American, including raised minimum wage, basic healthcare for all and homes, public spaces and workplaces free from harassment and retaliation. I hope we continue to value immigration to this country and help create pathways to citizenship rather than isolating our nation by surrounding our borders.

I hope so much for this country and I’ll continue to manifest this energy throughout the day, and this week, in hopes of changing the world.

Author: Gabrielle DeStefano

Gabrielle DeStefano

Leave a comment